Starting from Filing of Nomination to Counting, here’s the schedule of upcoming Elections in Meghalaya

Shillong, January 18: The Election Commission of India today announced the date for the upcoming Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Elections 2018, informed the Chief Electoral Officer, Meghalaya FR Kharkongor while addressing media persons at the Conference Hall, Meghalaya Main Secretariat, Shillong. He informed that the date of Issue of Gazette Notification is January 31, 2018, the last date for filing of Nominations is February 07, 2018 while the date for scrutiny of nominations is February 08, 2018 and the date for withdrawal of candidatures is February 12, 2018. The Date of polling in Meghalaya is February 27, 2018 while counting of votes will be held on March 03, 2018. It may be mentioned that the term of the present Meghalaya Legislative Assembly will expire on March 06, 2018.

Kharkongor also informed that with the announcement of the polls, the Model Code of Conduct comes into force with immediate effect, adding that all the provisions of the Model Code of Conduct will apply to the whole of Meghalaya including candidates, political parties and the State Government. The Model Code of Conduct shall also be applicable to the Union Government in so far as announcements/policy decisions pertaining to the state of Meghalaya is concerned. With regards to the ceiling of election expenses for candidates, he informed that as per the revised ceilings, the maximum limit of election expenses for the Assembly Constituencies is Rs 20 lakh per candidate and the candidates are required to furnish their accounts of expenditure within 30 days of declaration of results.

The Chief Election Officer, Meghalaya further informed that Webcasting will be used for the first time in Meghalaya in 193 identified polling stations for LIVE monitoring of the election process. Also, 60 All Women Managed Polling Stations, one in each constituency, manned by women polling staff, women police and women security personnel will be introduced in this election. He also added that VVPATs will be used in all the polling stations across Meghalaya.

The total number of electorates in the state as per the final rolls is 18,31,487 with a total number of 3082 polling stations in the 60 Assembly Constituencies of the state. Of the 3082 polling stations, 2025 are classified as Normal Polling Stations, 536 as vulnerable, 454 as critical and 67 as both vulnerable and critical. Over 21,000 polling officials will be engaged in conducting the elections.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.